Award Winners

Asphalt Pavement Alliance Announces Perpetual Pavement Award Winners

Long-life asphalt Perpetual Pavements are built in optimized layers designed to distribute the strains and stress of tires and traffics throughout the pavement structure. This helps confine pavement distresses to the easily-replaced surface while the deeper structure remains sound and in place indefinitely.

Although the Perpetual Pavement concept was first articulated in 2000, many asphalt pavements constructed long ago function as Perpetual Pavements. The Asphalt Pavement Alliance instituted the Perpetual Pavement Award program in 2001 to recognize state agencies and other owners of pavements that had the foresight to build pavements according to these principles.

Since 2001, the APA’s Perpetual Pavement Award program has recognized 144 long-life pavements in 31 U.S. states and one Canadian province. These roads were all at least 35 years old when honored, and had never experienced a structural failure. To qualify, a road could not have had more than 4 inches of new material added over the previous 35 years, and it could not have been resurfaced more frequently than once every 13 years. The winning pavements range in age from 35 years to 99 years, and the average age was 45.4 years at the time the award was won.

2019 Award winners

2018 Award winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners

2003 Award Winners

2002 Award Winners

2001 Award Winners