APA Jump Starts a State Asphalt Association in New Mexico

In response to a pavement market share threat, the Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA) has taken a key response role and has been instrumental in the formation of a new state asphalt pavement association in New Mexico. 

APA Executive Director Mike Kvach and past APA Board Member Mike O’Leary of MeadWestvaco Corporation, and with assistance from the Colorado Asphalt Pavement Association, have worked alongside a small group of suppliers and asphalt producers in New Mexico to respond to a new alternate bidding resolution passed by the New Mexico Transportation Commission. The resolution was instigated by the cement and concrete pavement industries. The New Mexico Asphalt Initiative has been launched and has the support of Holy Frontier, Mt. States Constructors, Fisher Sand & Gravel – New Mexico, Kiewit New Mexico, FNF Construction, and Lafarge. A steering committee has been established and Randy Clark of Holly Frontier is the chairman. Brian Jones has been retained as the Executive Director and the plan is to become the 40th state asphalt pavement association.